By Rob Finfrock

With the continued support from our sponsors and a successful auction at our recent annual convention, CJP is proud to be in a position to continue our increasing support for the next generation of aviation leaders through scholarship and education. CJP recently joined with the Bob Hoover Legacy Foundation in contributing $50,000 each towards four Bob Hoover Presidential Scholarships to students attending Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University (ERAU) on campuses in Prescott, AZ and Daytona Beach, FL.

Bob Hoover Scholarship Awards Sponsored by Citation Jet Pilots -

These latest scholarships, worth $25,000 apiece, were awarded during a reception held Oct. 23 in Daytona Beach and attended by storied test pilot, aviation legend, and Foundation namesake Bob Hoover, as well as Embry-Riddle President Dr. John P. Johnson, members of the university’s Board of Trustees and President’s Advisory Board, and members of the CJP and Hoover Foundation boards.

This is the second year that CJP has bestowed the Bob Hoover Presidential Scholarship, following last year’s inaugural recipient, Yann Bosch. Along with the Bob Hoover Legacy Foundation, CJP expanded the program to encompass four academic scholarships to Embry-Riddle students pursuing careers in the aviation industry.

“CJP is pleased to once again partner with Embry-Riddle and the Bob Hoover Legacy Foundation to provide these meaningful scholarships to deserving students, so they may move ahead in their aviation careers,” said CJP Chairman Mark Aloe.

• Sophomore Dakota Foster is an Aeronautical Science major with Aviation Safety minor who aspires to a career as an airline pilot, and is a member of the Embry-Riddle Women’s Ambassador Program.

• Senior Robert Morgan is an Aeronautical Science major at Embry-Riddle’s Prescott, AZ Campus who plans to attend Officer Training School and become a U.S. Air Force pilot following graduation from Embry-Riddle.

• With a double major in Aeronautical Science and Aerospace Engineering, junior Achyut Nair mentors new flight students and plans to become an Embry-Riddle flight instructor and then an airline pilot, with the ultimate goal of starting his own airline.

• Junior Anna Robinson is a student assistant at the Flight Dispatch Center and FAA Testing Center at Embry-Riddle, majoring in Aeronautical Science. She is also an Embry-Riddle Orientation Ambassador for new students.

The scholarship recipients each aspire to become professional pilots, and were selected based on their academic record, leadership skills, service to others, work ethic and financial need. Each also submitted a written essay demonstrating their passion for – and commitment to – the aviation industry.

“I would like to thank Embry-Riddle president Dr. John P. Johnson for bestowing these honors on these future aviation leaders,” Aloe added. “I also found it particularly meaningful to see Mr. Hoover, someone who has been so instrumental to establishing the very foundation of this industry, at a ceremony celebrating its future potential.”

Aloe also acknowledged CJP Chief Operating Officer Cheryl Hardy, and CJP Treasurer and Director Tracy Forrest, for their efforts towards selecting potential candidates and interviewing the finalists for the scholarships.